Pavement Party

Home » Pavement Party » Tomorrow is National Swim-A-Lap Day

Tomorrow is National Swim-A-Lap Day

Categories

Ironman ArizonaNovember 16th, 2014
The big day is here.

I will definitely get into the pool tomorrow.  I was there yesterday with my kids and during the break, I hopped in.  This is only the SECOND time I have EVER swam laps in MY LIFE.  It is hard.  It is kind of scary.  It is also something I need to be able to do.  I want to sign up for a triathlon soon, and I need to get into the pool.  I have to force myself to learn to swim those laps.

My son, is on the swim team.  He swims for an hour and a half at a time, in a 50 meter pool.  That is a long way to a non-swimmer.  Hell, I bet that is a long way to a swimmer-swimmer.  I have a new respect for swimmers after my measly 7.5 laps in the neighborhood pool during a 15 minute “adult swim.”  I am not kidding you, I was out of breath from one side to the other.  I had to stop in between each lap to catch my breath.  Now, I have never had a lesson, so I am basing my technique on what I see when I watch my son swim with the swim team.  I am pretty sure I look like a drowning victim, super splashy and all over the place, gasping for breath.  My friends told me I looked effortless, and strong.  Ha.  Those are friends that I will keep.

So, in honor of National Swim-A-Lap Day, tomorrow I will swim.  My goal will be to make it 2 laps without having to stop and GASP for breath.  I will make it 8 laps in total tomorrow, and I will continue to “train” for my future date unknown tri.

swimalapday

Leave a Reply

Follow Pavement Party on WordPress.com
