Pavement Party

Home » Pavement Party » 8 Hour Endurance Race? I’ll Train For That.

8 Hour Endurance Race? I’ll Train For That.

Categories

Ironman ArizonaNovember 16th, 2014
The big day is here.

The Pavement Party girls are going to do this.  It will be a challenge, but only because we are making it one…by having a goal of 68 miles, and having only 3 runners, it is sure not to be an easy day.  The course is a 3.2 mile loop, and with 3 runners, each will have to do 7 loops for about 22.6 miles each, finishing in 8 hours.  Now my longest run EVER has been 13.1 for my half which I just finished recently.  I have been training for this run by going out for 3.2, coming home, resting for 30 minutes or so, and then going back out for another 3.2.  I have done this 4 times in total on one day.  This weekend, I plan to do it 5 times.  I am trying to see how my body will react to running a short distance, resting, and then doing it again and again…so far, it hasn’t been too bad.  But this race begins at 2pm, you know, the hottest part of the day…

The girls I am running with are MARATHON and IRON MAN runners.  Ok, so this is nothing for them.  They are ready.  I will keep training.  They don’t want any walkers on their team, only tough girls.  Guess I am flattered they chose me, but scared shitless ‘cuz they can kick my ass if they need to before, during or after this day.  Wish me luck in my training.  I’ll post tons of pictures from the actual race to let you know how we did.

8hrendurance

Leave a Reply

Follow Pavement Party on WordPress.com
