Pavement Party

Home » Pavement Party » Stir-Fried Beef and Broccoli

Stir-Fried Beef and Broccoli

Categories

Ironman ArizonaNovember 16th, 2014
The big day is here.

I am great at planning and making dinner.  Taking pictures during, well, that is something I must work on.  I took a few, but none of the finished product.  Probably, I am too hungry, or there are too many people waiting on the food that I have just prepared for me to say, “Hey, wait a minute, let me take a few snap shots of this meal.”  ha ha.

PhotoGrid_1433353797911

It’s better than take-out and it literally takes 15 minutes to make (minus the rice, that’s 45).

Beef & Broccoli:

12 oz sirloin

1 t cornstarch

1 t sesame oil

12 oz broccoli, cut into small florets

4 scallions (optional–I always forget them)

1 carrot, cut into matchstick strips

1 garlic clove

1 in piece ginger root, cut into very fine strips (If I forget fresh, I throw in 1/4 t of ground)

1/2 cup low-fat beef stock

2 T soy sauce

2 T dry sherry

2 t light brown sugar.

1.  Trip beef and cut into thin slices across the grain.  Cut each slice into thin strips.  Toss in the cornstarch to coat thoroughly.

2.  Heat the sesame oil in a large non-stick frying pan or wok.  Add the beef strips and stir-fry over a brisk heat for 3 minutes.  Remove and set aside.

3.  Add the broccoli, scallions, carrot, garlic clove, ginger and stock to the frying pan.  Cover and simmer for 3 minutes.  Uncover and cook, stirring until all the stock has reduced entirely.

4.  Mix the soy sauce, sherry and brown sugar together.  Add to the frying pan or wok with the beef.  Cook 2-3 minutes stirring continuously.  Spoon into a warm serving dish and garnish with scallion tassels.  Serve on a bed of noodles or rice.

2015-06-03 14.01.46

This picture is the one from the cookbook, which is actually a textbook my brother had in culinary school.  He gave this book to me when he graduated..guess he thought I could use the help more than he could.  He was right.  In fact, this textbook has come in very handy.  I love preparing many of the recipes in it for my family.  I think you will enjoy this one too.  Next time, I’ll remember to take a photo of my finished product.

Leave a Reply

Follow Pavement Party on WordPress.com
