Pavement Party

Home » Pavement Party » My First Half Marathon

My First Half Marathon

Categories

Ironman ArizonaNovember 16th, 2014
The big day is here.

I completed my first half marathon this past weekend. Actually, that was my first race ever. It was right around the corner from where I live. Which was really cool.

I finished. So there’s that. I finished about 6-8 minutes slower than I had trained for.  So, I am a little disappointed. But, when I read the stats, they make me feel really good. Like, I was 14th in my age group. Ok, I like that. I finished 59th out of 730 females. That’s good too. I just wish I would have given it a little more at the end. I was doing so well until about mile 10..I hit some hills, I was getting tired. It was quite a long run. Maybe I should have done longer runs during my training. Some of them I would only do 9 or 12 when my paper said 13. Darn it. I really did follow that schedule well, but I maybe got a little cocky closer to the end. I knew I could finish. I just should have finished stronger than I did. Next time.

I am totally signing up for another half. I want to beat my time. I also worry that if I don’t sign up, I won’t run as much and then, I’ll get fat. Not an option.

Here I am. This is my Facebook post. First, me running at the end. Second, my kids..who were at the finish line cheering me on. Third, a girlfriend dropped a note and 13 beers on my porch to congratulate me.

image

Not a bad day. I’ll beat those 6 minutes in the next one.
Cheers!

Leave a Reply

Follow Pavement Party on WordPress.com
