Pavement Party

Home » Pavement Party » Would You Rather? Run 12 miles or Run 5 in the Wind Pushing a 34 Pound Kid in a Stroller?

Would You Rather? Run 12 miles or Run 5 in the Wind Pushing a 34 Pound Kid in a Stroller?

Categories

Ironman ArizonaNovember 16th, 2014
The big day is here.

I would have thought the 12 mile run would be harder.  It was a great run, I felt good and I am so glad I did it, of course.  I took a day off.  Next day, I thought a 5 mile loop to the park and back with my 4-year-old would be an awesome way to knock out a run and a play date.  Well, 20 mile an hour winds pushing an old (like 9-year-old) stroller was not an easy task.  I would look at my Garmin and see that I was running almost as slow as I can walk fast.  I was pushing and getting blown all over the place.  I am sure the drivers in the cars whooshing by me were cracking up.  I wanted to turn off my watch so that I couldn’t see how bad my pace was, but part of me really wanted to see how fast (slow) I was moving.  It was not easy.  It kills me to see that pace on my computer as I check it every day to see my progress as I train for the half in May.  I do think, however, this is very good for my training.  I can just think about how easy my next run will be without child, without wind.  I bet I will run at a faster pace this week because of that!

So, if ever asked this question of “Would You Rather,”  I will most definitely answer 12.

Leave a Reply

Follow Pavement Party on WordPress.com
