Pavement Party

Home » Pavement Party » My First Running Fall

My First Running Fall

Categories

Ironman ArizonaNovember 16th, 2014
The big day is here.

falling

2 weeks ago, I tweaked my knee during an 11 mile run along the lake in Chicago.  So I took a week off, then went out for a short run to check it, still hurting.  Now it’s been two weeks, I’m on my way out the door, nothing can stop me.  Can’t wait.  Just as I think (at mile 3) this is AWESOME, no pain…I will go 6 today….I trip and fall.  Not some stumble either.  I did like an all out both legs in the air, arms out like a super-hero, skidding on my stomach, elbows, knees INTO traffic, as I was crossing the street.  As I write this, it’s kind of funny to imagine my body flying through the air.   (If I had seen me, I probably would have laughed real hard but then gone over to me to see if I was ok.)  My legs are scratched up. My gloves ripped.  My heart broken.  I cried.  I hurt.  I was SO pissed off.  I had landed the majority of my fall on my knee.   I walked home, crying, laughing, mad…until the nicest family stopped for me in their van, and drove me home.  So now, I have had my first fall.  It’s been 6 months since I started running. I’m  happy it didn’t happen sooner. I’ll ride my bike today, and try another fall-free run tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

Follow Pavement Party on WordPress.com
